Top Ten Characters in my (Unconventional) Book Family

Top Ten Tuesday is weekly meme that is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

This week’s topic is Top Ten Tuesday : Book Boyfriends/Girlfriends

Ok, I was considering doing a normal “Book boyfriend/girlfriend” list, but I feel like that topic is too limiting. There are tons of characters I love and want to gush about and what better opportunity than this? Since the topic is all about fan-casting book characters into your life, here is my book ‘family’ lol:

(Click on covers to see my reviews for each book listed below)

1. MY PARTNER IN CRIME 

LOCKE from The Lies of Locke Lamora

This would actually be a dream come true for me. There is no one (in the fictional or real world) who loves stealing as much as Locke does and, I would argue, no one as good at it. He is clever, witty and naturally gifted at being a con-artist, not to mention down-right hilarious (and a pain in the butt). I can’t imagine a better way to spend my days than going on heists with Locke. It’s worth all the near-death moments, the angry mob of mages and constant threat from the criminal underworld…ok, almost worth it…

2. MY TWIN

JESPER from Six of crows

JESPER IS MY FAVE. Everything he says or does cracks me up. We are opposites in every way; I barely talk, I’m not nearly as confident and I’d probably end up shooting myself if I had one of his pearly pistols. But that’s exactly why I’m set on this- Jesper would be the hilarious, ridiculously-talented, and cocky half of me.

 

3. MY BFF

FELICITY from A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice & Virtue

Intelligent, snarky and badass – that’s quality bff material right there. If it weren’t for Felicity, all the main characters in this book would’ve died in the first few pages (sorry but Monty would be the first to go). Not only is she smart af and medically savvy but she calls out everyone (mostly Monty) on their shit.

 

4. MY BODYGUARD

IRIS from Want

Iris is one of my fave characters from Want. If there’s anything that can describe her it’s silent but deadly. As in literally deadly. She’d eviscerate all of my enemies, which, let’s be honest, basically includes my siblings and college professors (and we’d both team up to punch Nazis regularly🤷🏾). Of course, her tech-savvy girlfriend, Lingyi would be the brains behind all operations.

5. MY PET

TEMERAIRE from His Majesty’s Dragon

Who wouldn’t want a dragon for a pet?? Temeraire is the cuddliest (but also lowkey deadliest) dragon. He is intelligent, curious and HE TALKS (90% of the time nagging everyone with questions). Also, he is loyal to a fault and is a snuggler. Temeraire actually reminds me of Toothless, mostly because his all-black scales. I tear up every time I think about both these two *scrunches up face uglily and blinks 1000x*

6. MY PET-SITTERS (DRAGON-SITTERS)

CAS and SWIFT from The abyss surrounds us

I can’t think of better caretakers for my pet dragon, Temeraire. These two are obviously accustomed to sea monsters and, although that has nothing to do with dragons, they at least have experience dealing with ‘unusual’ pets. Cas would be the only one qualified for the job tbh but Swift would obviously want to come along and I’d let her because she’s the coolest and I love her (also, I’d get to witness their epic banters and ship them from the sides). 

7. MY BOYFRIEND

HIDEO from Warcross

I don’t know about y’all but I feel like Hideo should crush every other male character on all ‘Book boyfriend’ lists. He is the THE BOOK BOYFRIEND, hands down. Swoony, mysterious but totally unlike any YA male characters we usually see (and get tired of). While reading this book, I spent half the time mooning over Hideo and half the time mooning over the perfectness of the whole book. 

8. MY SON

BILAL from Nyxia

I am 20 years old and I am beyond tiny but BILAL IS MY SON OKAY. He is the purest, kindest, most adorable human to ever exist (I don’t care if he’s fictional). ADORABLE CINNAMON ROLL WHOM I WANT TO PROTECT. Bilal is literally the most kind and caring character I have ever come across in a book. If you haven’t read this book yet drop everything now and go read it!

9. MY OLDER SISTER

INEJ from Six of Crows

Whenever I talk about Inej, there is a large part of me that just wants to scream because I ADORE HER SO MUCH. I can’t even describe the amount of respect I have for her, how much she inspires me. Inej is, in many ways, the older sister I look up to (having grown up with 3 brothers, God knows I need it). I love absolutely everything about her, I want to be as talented, as bold and as resilient. And I would trail along behind her on her quest of revenge and justice like an annoying sibling.


10. MY STYLIST / PERSONAL ASSISTANT

VICTOR from Want

Ok, Victor is hands down the most polished and stylish person ever. Yes he mostly wears fancy suits and ties and shirts, but I never wear dresses so he could style me up in a badass suit anytime if it means I could achieve half the classiness he possess. And he has connections like crazy, always hooking up the crew with unattainable items and doing all the necessary preparations. He’d make the perfect personal assistant (even though he’d only be managing my countless college assignments and non-existent social life).

Disclaimer : None of these ‘fan-castings’ are meant to demean or insult any characters or author’s work.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters in my (Unconventional) Book Family

Add yours

  1. OK, this topic is amazing! Love it. It’s definitely one we should see as a future TTT topic. 🙂

    Glad to see some “Six of Crows” characters on this list (a book I still need to read) and a “Warcross” book boyfriend. I’ve been going back and forth about reading this one (because I’m not sure it’s really “my genre”) but with that shining fangirl paragraph, I may be re-thinking my thoughts. 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you!! ❤️ The Six of Crows characters always find themselves in any list I create tbh. I LOVE THEM ALL. Oh, please read Warcross! It’s honestly one of the best books that came out this year. I’m not into gaming or virtual reality but it completely blew me away.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not a gamer or fan of virtual reality either, but considering all the hype… it is one I’m curious about!! Glad to know it’s a great read.

        Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. 🙂

        Like

  2. I LOVE YOUR NEW FAMILY! Also excellent idea…*starts planning to be adopted by book characters immediately* Also I want Jasper in my family for sure, yes please. He is so hilarious.😂 And LOCKE!! Locke is the absolute best (and so excited to see someone else has read that incredibly perfect book!!)

    Like

Leave a Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

