Top Ten Books That Were Difficult To Read/Finish

Top Ten Tuesday is weekly meme that is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

This week’s topic is Top Ten Difficult Books

The books I personally found difficult are either books that made me too emotional and devastated or ones that were so boring I DNFed them (or almost DNFed). So here are some books that I had difficulty with:

 

 (Click on covers to add on Goodreads)

 

1. FROSTBLOOD (Frostblood Saga #1) by Elly Blake

This was one of the hardest books I had to get through. I know there are a lot of people who love or enjoy this book and I completely respect their opinions but I am personally baffled at the hype Frostblood gets. From the very first page, I just knew I wouldn’t enjoy it in the slightest. It felt like I was reading a YA trope manual. I found it boring, dull and predictable. But I wanted to finish so I trudged through the whole thing…and ended up regretting all the time I wasted.

2. ARCHIE #1  by Mark Waid, Fiona Staples (Art)

I think this might have been the first graphic novel I read. I picked it up last year after the show, Riverdale, started getting a lot hype. I wasn’t exactly intending to watch the show but I wanted to see what the whole thing was about, plus I wanted to get into graphic novels. I ended up hating it. Okay, maybe ‘hate’ is too strong a word. I just found it boring; I didn’t care about any of the characters. The art was gorgeous but the plot basically centers around a love triangle and I loathe that trope. LOATHE IT. I did manage to finish it though. Mostly so I can count it towards my Goodreads challenge to be honest lol.

3. CROOKED KINGDOM (Six of crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Before you start cursing at me, let me explain…I did not DNF or hate this book. I (obviously) rated it 5 stars and I LOVED it. But it was difficult for me to get through. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I did Six of crows, mostly because it was more plot-driven but also because I absolutely did not want the story to end.

 

 

 

4. RUNAWAYS DELUXE, Vol. 1 (Runaways Deluxe #1) by Brian K. Vaughan, Adrian Alphona (Illustrator), Takeshi Miyazawa (Illustrations)

4

I picked this up after the failure that was Archie. I wanted a graphic novel that could get me into reading more of the genre and this had a super interesting premise. I ended up not enjoying it as much. I liked the characters and the plot was interesting enough but the dialogue was kinda horrible’ unrealistic and awkward. Plus the artwork just didn’t do it for me personally. On top of that, it was kinda long. It took me forever to finish it and I almost DNFed it half-way.

 

 

5. A LIST OF CAGES by Robin Roe

This one is another 5-star read for me but it fits into the too-painful-to-get-through category. The subject matter is one that I find very difficult to read about. I went into this aware of all the trigger warnings but I didn’t expect to be so attached to the main characters. And the things Julian goes through had me bawling every ten pages. It was an emotionally devastating book but one that is so very important. I recommend everyone to check out its trigger warnings before picking this one up.

 

6. MILK AND HONEY  by Rupi Kaur

This one was actually not that bad. It was my first poetry collection and I kinda enjoyed it; there were few poems in here that I absolutely loved, but I found myself resisting the urge to skim over some of the others. Especially towards the end, there was a lot of focus on sex and love and relationships. And those kinds of things always go over my head. It wasn’t what I was looking for.

7. A CONJURING OF LIGHT (Shades of magic #3) by Victoria Schwaab

I adore the shades of magic. The first book was my favorite one to be honest, but I enjoyed the sequels as well. But to be honest, this one was my least favorite from the series. It’s too long. Nothing even happens towards the middle. I spent about two weeks slogging through this one. I love the characters and I like the story and if it wasn’t so unnecessarily long it would’ve been perfect. Either way, I did rate it 5 stars so it wouldn’t have mattered. I just love Schwaab and her writing too much to rate it any lower. 

8. 27 Hours  by Trisitna Wright

I’m actually currently reading this one. So far, I’m enjoying it…but it’s been like a month since I started it and I’m only half-way through. After I put it down I find it hard to pick it back up. Instead, I find myself reading other books. I don’t know what it is to be honest. The writing is nice, the characters are marvelous and the story is intriguing enough. I just find it a bit dense and difficult to get through. Hopefully, I’ll manage to finish it in the next few days :/ 

9. THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE (The bear and the nightingale #1) by Katherine Arden

I really don’t know how to feel about this book. On one hand, I loved it, on the other…it was almost a DNF. The writing is gorgeous and the fairytale-like vibe had me at 100% but I just felt too distanced from the characters and that made it hard for me to care about anything they were going through. Also, it was too slow-paced and got boring towards the middle. Having said that, I am very eager to read the sequel. I don’t know why but I have a good feeling about the next book.

 

 

10. INVICTUS by Ryan Graudin 

This was one of the most unique books I’ve read. I loved it more than I had expected. The writing, the characters and the premise… all so amazing. I recommend it to everyone. It’s a time travel book but one done so well that I found myself getting lost every few pages. And that was the one issue I had with this. It’s actually a positive attribute that it was so technical because it makes things realistic enough but a lot of things went over my head and that detracts slightly from my reading experience. 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Were Difficult To Read/Finish

Add yours

Leave a Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

